Skip to content

And the Oscar goes to…

March 8, 2010

…The Hurt Locker! Hmmm, I guess I should watch it. Oddly, even though Film Studies was one of my majors in college I never watch the Academy Awards. And even though I write a fashion blog, I’m not interested in celebrity fashion, so the red carpet at the Oscars is not a huge deal to me. However, in response to a personal request from one of my readers I’ll do a quick post on some of the winning looks of the night.

Before I begin, let me just say that I was unimpressed with even the “best” looks of last night’s Academy Awards. Very few of them, if any, will be remembered in my end of the year red carpet round-ups. There weren’t too many bold moves and even those that could be described as such sort of fell flat for me. I will get into that further in a bit.

Cameron Diaz in Oscar de la RentaMiley Cyrus in Jenny Packham

First off, Cameron Diaz and Miley Cyrus both chose champagne-colored gowns to hit the red carpet in. Both dresses were pretty and feminine, but in all honesty nothing to write home about. First of all, Cameron’s dress doesn’t really embody her spirit very well. She’s more spunky and California casual, so this dazzling Oscar de la Renta gown, though beautiful in its own right, did not make for her most memorable red carpet moment. Miley, on the other hand, wore a somewhat bridesmaidsy dress by Jenny Packham, but the styling was well-done. It’s clear that she’s going for a grown-up look for the big event and she pulls it off well, without looking like a little girl playing dress-up with her mother’s clothes and jewelry. I particularly liked her hair, the way it was loosely swept back in a slightly tousled chignon. I actually think these two ladies should have switched dresses, just dresses, keeping hair, makeup and accessories as is. The bustier top on the Jenny Packham dress is definitely Cameron’s style and Miley’s glam styling would do more justice to that gorgeous De la Renta. So girls, have your stylist call her stylist. Or have them both call me.

Carey Mulligan in PradaKristen Stewart in Monique Lhuillier

Unfortunately, not the best shot of Carey Mulligan (she looked way prettier when they were showing her reaction shots as Sean Penn read the nominees for Best Actress), but a great moment for Prada. This dress is so unexpectedly interesting. There are a lot of “expected” elements in it, after all it’s essentially a black strapless dress with some Academy Awards-appropriate sparkle and shine. But I love how the sweetheart neckline compliments her adorable pixie haircut and the cinched waist almost gives her the anatomically-impossible figure of Disney’s animated Tinkerbell. Most of all, I love the hem; you’re sort of left thinking “It’s tea-length? Yet it has a train?”  Yes, and yes, and truthfully it’s kind of weird, but for some reason it makes sense on Carey, and maybe only on Carey. The dress has character and I like that. Oppositely, Kristen Stewart looks uncomfortable and awkward in her Monique Lhuillier mermaid gown. It seems that stylists love to put figure-enhancing navy-colored gowns on tomboys, a la Hilary Swank in her fantastic Guy Laroche dress back in 2005, which, for the record, was much more memorable than this one. Though Kristen’s Monique Lhuillier dress is beautiful and I appreciate the simplicity of her overall look, she doesn’t quite own the look. I clearly see the body language of a girl who would rather be in jeans, sneakers and maybe a cool leather jacket, and quite honestly I don’t blame her.

Vera Farmiga in MarchesaZoe Saldana in Givenchy Haute Couture

So Vera Farmiga and Zoe Saldana gave us two of the more memorable red carpet moments of last night’s awards ceremony. Vera’s reminds me of Botticelli’s “Birth of Venus”–her soft red hair, milky skin and a gorgeous Marchesa dress that totally resembles a giant clamshell. This cannot be a coincidence! Anyway, whether the parallel was intentional or not, Vera’s entire look was very artsy and interesting. Though you all know how much I love Zoe and think that she can do no wrong, admittedly the Givenchy Haute Couture gown she wore last night was a bit much. There was too much going on with the frills and the ombre, but I’m mostly bothered by the strange mismatching color of the bust. It looks like two different dresses were pieced together. I’m not sure why this look is making it on to most of the “Best Dressed” lists. I applaud her gutsy approach, but I’m just not feeling this one.

Maggie Gyllenhaal in Dries van NotenRachel McAdams in Elia Saab Haute Couture

Two of my favorites of the night were Maggie Gyllenhaal’s Dries van Noten column dress and Rachel McAdams’s Elie Saab Haute Couture gown. I love that these stars chose to showcase prints, which are rarely seen at the Oscars. Though prints tend to read more casual and daytime, Maggie and Rachel both kept it very elegant and still glamorous. The simplicity of their hair and jewelry tames the look and keeps it from appearing too busy. It was a somewhat risky choice for a relatively conservative red carpet (as opposed to artsier events like the Met Costume Institute Gala), but I think it paid off for them.

Elizabeth Banks in VersaceDemi Moore in Versace

Last, but not least, the Versaces. Both are gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. If I had to pick one as the winner, I’d probably go with Elizabeth Banks’s periwinkle gown over Demi Moore’s peachy pink frill-fest. The former is edgier and cool, while the latter reminds me of Country Time Pink Lemonade. Now that I mentioned it, you know I’m right.

Well, that’s the end of it. Let me know what you think about my opinionated Oscar fashion rundown.

Source: People

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra Hong permalink
    March 8, 2010 3:00 PM

    great recap/commentary on a pretty anticlimactic oscar fashion show. no one seemed to get it just “right.” there were always one or two elements that seemed “off” about most of the “best dressed” looks. no side-by-side of j.lo and amanda seyfried?

  2. March 19, 2010 9:11 AM

    ehhhh. haha.

Leave a Reply

