Skip to content

True Confessions of a Shopaholic

July 27, 2009

 


[source: Steven Alan]

 

I did it. I broke my shopping ban. But it was for a good cause! The cause being myself. Last week was a majorly stressful and busy week and I was in desperate need of a pick-me-up.

 

Here’s how it went down: Being the savvy shopper that I am, I was recruited by my large-headed friend to help him find a pair of sunglasses that would fit his face. After a failed attempt to find any sunglass stores at 3rd Street Promenade, we went to the Grove to check out Nordstrom and Barneys. By the way, wouldn’t you naturally assume that a beachside tourist shopping destination would have at least half a dozen sunglass retailers?! I did, but I was wrong and I got hell for it.

 

Anyway, we entered Barneys and there was a sale going on, but I was on a mission. I wasn’t going to try anything on, but my friend was pretty depressed about not finding any sunglasses after hours and hours of shopping so when he insisted I try on some things just so our day wouldn’t be “wasted” I didn’t have the heart to refuse. Honestly, I had no intention of buying anything. But then I found this really cute mint green and white striped Steven Alan shirtdress and I went bananas. It’s so me! Plus it was 50% off the already reduced price and, the kicker, it was in my size. It was one of those shopportunies that you don’t happen upon often so I seized it.

 

Anyway, I know I broke my ban and all but I felt like I deserved a little pampering after a long, arduous week and it was actually a good luck charm because 10 minutes later my friend found his sunglasses. So everyone won!

 

Here’s the dress I bought:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

