Skip to content

Seattle Street Style

July 2, 2009

 


 [source: flickr users: bensonkua, vincos and suomynona]

 

I’m leaving for Seattle in T-4 hours! Some college friends and I are gathering from all over the country in the Emerald City to catch up with each other, see the sights and celebrate our nation’s independence. So as I was planning my wardrobe for the next 5 days I initially decided that I didn’t want it to be too obvious that I was a tourist from Los Angeles. After all Seattle is a laidback city but they tend to turn their coffee-loving noses up at things that are overly flashy or high-maintenance. Unlike LA, where it’s the flashier the better and everyone is high maintenance, at least relative to all non-Angelenos. Anyway it was immediately clear to me that I have no absolutely no idea how the good people of Seattle dress. So I checked out some Seattle street style blogs to help me pull together some geographically-appropriate outfits for my trip.

 

Basically the look is very casual, urban and quasi-hipster. Like so:

 


 [source: Pike/Pine]

 

I like the relaxed, slouchy, cool vibe they have going on.

 

But in the end, though my original goal was to walk like a Seattleite, I ended up packing totally SoCal-girl pieces like my 70s retro wide-leg jeans and my floor-skimming royal (Lakers) purple maxi dress and my 5-inch platform heels. So what if they think I’m high-maintenance? I’m from LA, trick!

 

Happy Fourth!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    July 2, 2009 3:48 PM

    stay in LA

  2. Ali permalink
    July 6, 2009 9:40 AM

    Overly casual has become the bane of west coast fashion….

  3. August 27, 2009 4:49 PM

    the bane? or the uniquely indentifiable signature?! haha. i half agree 🙂

Leave a Reply

