Skip to content

Talk the Talk

June 15, 2009

I just finished watching the first season of CW’s Stylista (which aired and ended a while back) and the whole time I was thinking “I could totally win that competition.” I am 200% certain that I have better editorial judgment, design skills and style than all of those contestants. Watching it was a bit frustrating at times as a result.

 

Anyway, The Moment ran a story on the importance of knowing the lingo and being able to recognize and correctly pronounce the names of designers and other important industry players. How does this relate to Stylista? Well, there was one challenge in which the contestants had to help Anne Slowey greet her guests at a Bungalow 8 party (similar scene in The Devil Wears Prada) and I know I would have killed in that challenge. Sigh. ELLE should hire me.

 

Watch these instructional videos to learn how to pronounce some commonly butchered fashion names:

One Comment leave one →
  1. sandra permalink
    June 30, 2009 12:55 PM

    is fashion designer name pronunciation what they teach at the imperial hotel management college?

Leave a Reply

