Skip to content

Bringing Back the 80s

April 28, 2009

 

I’ve been invited to an 80s-themed birthday/house-warming party this weekend.

Sigh.

I was never big on costume-dressing. But on top of that of all the fashion decades to choose from the 80s (of which I am a product) is probably my least favorite. Recall the neon-colored horror of it! Not to mention the frizzy haired madness and the inexplicable ridiculousness that is the leg-warmer. Oh and cheap hooker eye-shadow anyone? Makes me shudder.

 


[source: Flickr]

And the only thing worse than actual 80s fashion is our costume-party interpretations of it i.e. walking around looking like a colorfully vamped up (and tramped up?) American Apparel ad campaign.

 

But I’ve never been a party pooper and I’m not about to start acting like one now.

 

Fortunately, there are other, less despicably cliche 80s trends to choose from i.e. acid wash, neon done right, strong shoulders, body con dresses, oversized boyfriendwear, etc. And designers sometimes, not always, but sometimes, get it right:


L-R: Balmain, Alexander Wang and Topshop Unique


Alexander Wang


Balmain and Nathan Jensen (left)

[source: Style]

Though runway looks aren’t the most accessible or practical for a house party.

 

But that is still no excuse for legwarmers. There are more creative and stylish ways to bring back the 80s while staying far away from that nonsense:


[source: Indie Cult Vintage]

These pieces (almost) convince me that the 80s are worth bringing back.

 

But for a party I want to wear something flashier and fun. Yet I refuse to fall back on layering neon tanks on top of neon skirts on top of neon leggings in order to make myself stand out. It wouldn’t work anyway because everyone else is thinking the exact same thing.

A better idea: 80s prom queen. Find the frilliest, most ridiculously 80s dress and work it.

These dresses from Indie Cult Vintage are, in my opinion, less ridiculous and more fabulous, but you get the idea:


[source: Indie Cult Vintage]

Had I planned earlier I totally would have shopped eBay for a crazy 80s prom dress. It would’ve been rad. Shoulda, woulda, coulda, right?

 

Instead, for my Friday night look I think I’ll probably channel the subtle sexiness of Tom Cruise a la 1983’s Risky Business.

All I need is an oversized white shirt and some tube socks. And I’ll jazz it up with a side pony-tail, a neon patent leather skinny belt, totally 80s wayfarers and maybe the new shiny black leather-like leggings I just scored for $9 at Urban Outfitters.

 

But no leg-warmers for me. No way. Not in this lifetime.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ERICA permalink
    April 29, 2009 11:25 PM

    I JUST LOVE IT..UNFORTUNATELY I HAVEN’T BORN ON THE YEAR 1980 BUT STILL I DRESS ONLY 80s.
    THANKS ;;))

  2. May 6, 2009 1:05 PM

    Hi, good post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for writing. I will likely be subscribing to your site. Keep up the good posts

  3. August 27, 2009 4:45 PM

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

