Skip to content

Restaurant Reviews

April 9, 2009

 

Since my bf just bought me a plane ticket to come visit him again in NYC I figure I should stop procrastinating with the restaurant reviews from my last New York City excursion.

 

The Reviews:

 

Cornelia Street Cafe

I had buttermilk pancakes with fresh fruit and real maple syrup. He had two eggs and bacon or something or other. I don’t even remember. My pancakes were delicious. So much so that I didn’t even try his dish. The place itself was cute, but it was a Friday morning and most people have what you call jobs so it was pretty quiet. We sat at a table right by the big windows facing Cornelia Street. It was all very picturesque and quaint.

 

Cafe des Artistes

What I liked about this restaurant was the Central Park adjacent location and the secret garden-esque interior. Lots of pretty naked ladies painted on the walls and the whole place smelled like fresh flowers. I think it would have been much more appropriate for dinner. For brunch it felt too formal. I ordered the prix fixe brunch—salad, Cafe Burger and pear tart. The salad and burger were good, not great, and the pear tart was disappointing. My bf had cornbeef scramble, I think. It was a bit too salty and overseasoned.

 

The Smith

The best brunch of the weekend! The place was packed and totally raging. Probably because a lot of them, like me, had seen The Smith featured on The City. Great East Village locati0n close to Strand (18 miles of books!). Everything was generously portioned and much of it was smothered in gravy/butter/other heart-attack inducing condiment. Delicious! My girlfriend practically licked her plate. I did some major damage to my plate as well. I tasted each dish and they were all great.

And I hadn’t planned on it but looking back at the older post it seems I ordered the dish featured in the Gothamist’s photo.

That’s poached eggs with turkey sausage on top of spicy cornbread and potatos with gravy! *drool* My photo of it doesn’t look quite the same, but it was scrumptious!

 

We didn’t make it to Nero D’ Avola or Wallsé, but there’s always next time!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 3:49 PM

    just saw these reviews, and very glad to see you are a brunch burger eater! next time you come to ny, definitely go to little owl for brunch. best burger in nyc. i said it.

  2. joiji permalink*
    April 16, 2009 9:10 AM

    will do! thanks for the rec.

Leave a Reply

